What if…. we are purpose driven – Chapter 1

Point to Ponder:  It’s not about me.
Verse to Remember: “Everything got started in him and finds its purpose in him” Colossians 1:16b (Msg)
Question to consider: In spite of all the advertising around me, how can I remind myself that life is really about living for God, not myself?

Just thinking about the Purpose of life is very intriguing.  As chapter one states the purpose of life has usually been looked on with a starting point as ourselves.  Career, dreams for my future, my goals, accumulating wealth, etc. is not the way to determining your purpose in life.

The discovery of your identity and purpose is through a relationship with Jesus Christ. The emphasis is on Jesus Christ

Islam: The Quran addresses the purpose of life as follows:
So what does the Creator, Allah, tell us about our purpose in life? Allah states in the Quran that He created man to be His Khalefah, His trustee on earth (Quran 2:30). Mankind’s basic trust, our responsibility, is to believe in and worship Allah:

And I did not create the Jinn and mankind except to worship Me…  (Quran, 51:56-58)

Very simple! The purpose for man’s creation is to worship the Creator. The essence of Allah’s message through all of the prophets also was:   O mankind, worship Allah, you have no deity other than Him.  (Quran, 7:59,65,73,85; Also 11:50,61,84; and 23:23,32).  Allah further states that He made this life in order to test man so that every person may be recompensed after death for what he has earned:

[He] who created death and life to test you [as to] which of you is best in deed – and He is the Exalted in Might, the Forgiving.  (Quran, 67:2)

But in order to worship Him, we have to know Him well otherwise we may form a distorted concept of Him and then go astray. In the Quran Allah tells mankind what He is and what He is not. For example, in response to a question about Allah that was posed to the Prophet Muhammad , Allah instructs Muhammad  to give the following reply:

Say (O Muhammad): He is Allah [Who is] One, Allah, the Eternal Refuge. He neither begets nor is born, nor is there to Him any equivalent. (Quran, 112)

Like wise Hinduism addresses the purpose of life as follows:

Day to day purpose is to pay back the rin or debts like Pitri rin, putra rin etc. That is to do your duty towards your parents, family, society, god……………

There are four targets of life according to Hinduism: Dharma, Arth, Kama, Moksha .

Dharma is to follow righteous path, Arth is to earn (money , you need it ) Kama is married life and Moksha.

Purpose of work should be selfless. A karma yogi is the one who works without thinking about himself only. He works for greater good. One should do the work as best he could do without hope of definite results. Result is not in our hand. The result is in hands of God and he will reward us for Karma as he will find befitting.

Moksha (Freedom or Salvation)

Moksha means freedom from the cycle of birth and death. The ultimate goal of Hindu religious life is to attain freedom from the cycle of birth and death, or union with God. This union is achieved through true knowledge (jnana), devotion (bhakti), or right work (karma). Purity, self-control, truthfulness, non-violence, and compassion toward all forms of life are the necessary prerequisites for any spiritual path in Hinduism. There is no concept of Savior. You have to free yourself by your own effort. No savior can help you achieve God realization without your personal effort.

Four Stages of Life :

All cycles in the world we perceive are characterized by the number four, which is the number of the Earth. Like all things terrestrial, man’s life thus divides into four periods – the four stages of life. All life has a springtime, summer, autumn, and winter, as also its morning, noon, evening, and night. These four periods of life are called “the four stages of action”: the four ashramas.

1. The First Stage of Life : The quest for knowledge (Brahmacharya) – the student
2. The Second Stage of Life: Family Life (Grihastha) – dedicated to domestic affairs.
3. The Third Stage of Life: Retreat into the Forest – (Vana-Prastha) – to devote to study and reflection.
4. The Fourth Stage of Life: Renunciation (Sanyasa) – Renunciation all attachments, the spiritual and physical preparation for death.

Anyway that you look at it the Bible and the Quran include Jesus Christ as God….. in its basic state including Hinduism, they all talk about a source, a power greater than ourselves and that we should be be selfless and work towards achieving a oneness with this source. If you are not living for yourself then you are living for others to make their lives and the world a better place for all.

Dr. Wayne Dyer also addresses this in his spiritual messages.  Look him up on the internet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.